Blacksmith Project – hand forged Christmas gifts

My brother and I had not used our forge for several years and we were anxious to light it up again. Earlier on we had used it in a corner of the machine shed but the forge and workbench had been dismantled and stored since then. It took about a day of cleaning out manure and spreading it on the fields before before we could set up the forge.

In the past we used coal from various sources but it was mostly power plant coal or other fairly dirty grades. This time I bought some blacksmith coal from a supplier in MN and brought it down to Iowa. This coal was very nice to work with because it was so much cleaner and produced a lot fewer clinkers than any coal we used previously.

12-28-06-forged-curtain-hardware-047-700.jpg12-28-06-forged-curtain-hardware-048-700.jpg12-28-06-forged-curtain-hardware-053-700.jpg

I produced a curtain hardware set. It has wall hooks with curled hooks and a twisted section across the top. The curtain rod ends are split with curls pointing up and down.

12-28-06-forged-curtain-hardware-059-400.jpg12-28-06-forged-curtain-hardware-061-700.jpg12-28-06-forged-curtain-hardware-066-700.jpg

I made it for Emily’s apartment in Minneapolis, MN and it will cover a window with this view. It should look pretty nice with a linen or similar curtain material. Maybe Emily will send a photo when it is mounted and the curtain hung?

12-18-06-pokia-build-v2-and-mn-057-700.jpg

6 Responses to “Blacksmith Project – hand forged Christmas gifts”

  1. aioa Says:

    Are the curtains up yet? I’d love to see some pictures.

  2. Emily Says:

    The curtains are up! Yay! It looks lovely. I’ll send a picture as soon as I figure out how to get my pictures onto the computer (a project I’ve been meaning to do since going to Columbia last winter ;).

  3. Spray Insulations : Says:

    the curtain rods that we use are made of aluminum instead of still, the good thing about it is that they are very lightweight compared to steel

  4. Cordless Screwdriver · Says:

    aluminum curtains rods are much lighter than those steel rods that we previously used ‘`,

  5. omgitschristmas.com Says:

    omgitschristmas.com…

    […]Blacksmith Project – hand forged Christmas gifts « What’s he building in there?[…]…

  6. tu bep go tu nhien Says:

    After exploring a few of the articles on your site, I seriously appreciate your
    way of writing a blog. I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.

    Please check out my web site too and tell me
    your opinion.

Leave a comment